Ready to relax…

There’s some saying about not being able to relax in a messy room. And I am in desperate need of some relaxation, so that meant my room needed cleaning, asap.

I’m not an unclean person, just very messy. I will keep my workspace immaculate, don’t mind tidying up other people’s houses, but when it comes to my room, I tend to chuck things on the nearest flat surface and go.

So, this morning I waded into the sea of clothes, shoes and bags and started tidying. And the result is pretty good, if I don’t say so myself. You can see all the surfaces and I’ve even managed to arrange things nicely, in the hopes of maybe keeping it that way.

I have had my bedside table ever since I moved to a single bed when I was a kid, so it’s looking a little worse for wear. Unable to afford a new one, I thought I would spruce it up a bit with some wallpaper from a sample book of discontinued patterns. I chose subdued colours that matched the wall colour so that the look was nice and harmonious.

On the other side of the bed, my other mismatched bedside table holds some of my design books and a vase of beautiful (faux) orchids.

In one corner of the room is a little collection of items dedicated to the men in my family. A camera that belonged to my Pop, a photo of my Grandad and a photo of a floating Coke can that my dad took years ago in South Australia.

And this little vingette to hide the powerpoint next to my wardrobe. Pink cherry blossom, a beauty case from an op-shop and some round storage boxes as well as a ceramic elephant my aunt bought back from Bali.

Hanging on a wall is a pinboard that I put everything I find inspiring on. From clippings from fashion and design magazines to fabric, mementos and old movie tickets I pin anything that makes me happy onto this board. I love to lie in bed and look over it, reminding myself of good times with friends or plans and aspirations.

So that’s my room as of today. Hopefully it will stay looking just as clean and tidy for weeks to come. -C

 

Leave a Reply

